Posted by: Vallere | August 1, 2010

Shark Week vs. World Breastfeeding Week

It’s the first week of August, and you know what that means! Two of my favorite events, all smooshed into 7 days: Shark Week on Discovery Chanel AND World Breastfeeding Week!

As I sat in my recliner today with my cluster-nursing 5 week old, soaking in some Shark Week goodness (as well as a couple of nursing pads…), I got to thinking. Isn’t it odd that Shark Week and WBW are the same week? I mean, could you find two more dissimilar things? But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that sharks and breastfeeding actually DO have quite a few things in common!

So, for your bemusement, I offer you The Top 9 Ways Sharks are like Breastfeeding!

1) Sharks live all over the world…women breastfeed all over the world!

2) Sharks like to eat alot of fish…babies like to eat a lot of breastmilk!

3) Sharks come in all different sizes…boobies come in all different sizes!

4) Sharks have really sharp teeth…so do babies!

5) Some sharks travel in large groups and feed together…breastfeeding moms know that when you get a group together, the babies partake in “social nursing”

6) Sharks latch onto their prey and flip around to tear off chunks of meat…nursing todlers latch on and then flip all around because nursing gymnastics are fun!

7) Lots of sharks are very active at night…so are breastfeeding moms!

8) Sharks never stop moving…and all the breastfeeding mamas said “Amen!”

9) Sharks attempt to eat often, but are only rarely sucessful at getting a full meal…hey! That sounds familiar!

Responses

  1. Interesting. I’ve never actually made it to a LLL meeting, I didn’t know babies would do “social nursing”. That’s totally cool to me.

    We haven’t gotten teeth yet, I hope she doesn’t get her first in honor of shark week.


Leave a Reply

Categories

