Posted by: Vallere | September 7, 2010

Another busy month!

I see it’s been almost a whole month since my last post. I’m not so good at this blogging thing, huh? Anyway, as the title suggests, we’ve been very busy recently. Lots of things have been going on with Zollie, and to keep from cross-posting, you can read all about it on his CaringBridge page at www.caringbridge.org/visit/zollieshelton . The short version is that Zollie has officially been diagnosed with Growth Hormone Deficiency, which means he has pituitary dwarfism. An MRI showed that he also has a Chiari 1 malformation, which we consulted with a surgeon about, and have a follow up MRI and appt with a pediatric eye doctor coming up soon, the results of which will determine when and if he needs surgery. Needless to say, we’ve been quite stressed out over the whole thing. We know he’ll be having the daily injections now, and he may still need surgery on his skull.

Because of the almost weekly doctor and hospital visits, homeschooling has suffered. We’ve done ok with Math – we’re on lesson 5 of the Math U See Primer. We’ve done the first lesson in Mystery of History, and a wee bit more in Hooked on Phonics. I’m hnoping this week we can really get back into a groove. This will be the first week in a while with no doctor appointments. Zollie and Ian have both been very fussy and ornery lately, and we are sure it’s a side effect of all of the stress we are all under.

PG has finally received his contract from Australia, and we are trying to get all of the rest of the paperwork done for that. All of us have to have physicals and we’re still waiting for my passport to come in. Tomorrow, after school, I have about 5 phone calls to make to schedule all of the appointments. I also need to get us all into the dentist, especially since I chipped one of my wisdom teeth yesterday.

We did find out that the “fully furnished” part of the house they will give us will include linens and kitchen supplies, so that’s one less thing I have to worry about once we get there. We’re all really getting excited about the trip! I can’t wait to meet all of the neat ladies I’ve chatted with over on www.toowoombamumsforum.com .

Back on the homefront, Ceirdwyn is doing great…growing like a weed. I moved her into 3mo clothes! I’ve also finally gotten all of the boys’ outgrown clothes sorted and out of their room. We had a big yard sale Saturday at a friend’s house, and I’m hoping to have another one here at my house Saturday after next. The house is slowly getting weeded through and thoroughly cleaned, which makes PG and I feel much more at east. One of the things I’m really looking forward to in Toowoomba is not having so much STUFF. I really, truely hate how stuff-oriented we are. I hate that my kids say “I want” and “Give me!” so much. I want us to live a simpler lifestyle. One thing we’ve done recently is to start eating supper at the table together, and it’s been so great. We’ve been doing it almost every night for the past 2 weeks or so, and the kids are used to it. I think I’m going to move the plates down into a drawer from the cabinets so that the boys can reach them and help set the table. I want them to have a little more responsibility and be more of a part of the family duties.

Here’s hoping that this week goes smoothly and we have time to breathe and reconnect after our busy month in August!

Leave a Reply

Categories

