Posted by: Vallere | February 17, 2011

Why my house doesn’t look like it should

My house is messy. Inside me lives a woman who keeps up with laundry and dishes, never leaves crumbs on the table, and mops at least once a week. But she doesn’t get out much, and there’s a reason why. A friend posted this poem on her Facebook page today and it sums up pretty well why I would be numb with embarassment if someone just dropped in on me without warning…

Excuse This House – Author Unknown

Some houses try to hide the fact
That children shelter there.
Ours boasts it quite openly,
The signs are everywhere.

For smears are on the windows,
Little smudges are on the doors.
I should apologize, I guess
For toys strew on the floor.

But I sat down with my children
And we played and laughed and read
And if the doorbell doesn’t shine,
Their eyes will shine instead.

For when at times I’m forced to choose
The one job or the other,
I’d like to cook and clean and scrub,
But first I’ll be a mother.

Responses

  1. Wonderful post, Vallere. I’m right with ya!

  2. AMEN, sister!!! I’d rather be a mother too…That’s why I have kids!!!

    PS I’ll catch up with you later on my CRAZY week!!!

    I send my love!


Leave a Reply

Categories

