Posted by: Vallere | March 1, 2011

Cave Beach

Today is going to be another one of those posts where I don’t type much. I’d rather let the pictures do the talking.

We were told by a friend that we needed to check out Cave Beach, which is about a 30-40 minute drive from our house. After Kai Iwi and Surf Beach, I couldn’t imagine anything more spectacular, but this one might take the cake on “breathtaking beauty”.

Seriously, y’all, everywhere in New Zealand is gorgeous. We went to the Manawatu Gorge and I promptly exclaimed that “This is the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen!” and then we went to Kai Iwi and I said, “This is the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen!” and then we went to Surf Beach and I said, “This is the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen!”

Do you see a pattern?

Come visit New Zealand. You’ll agree with me…I promise!

So, enough jabbering…on with the good stuff!

Smooth rocks like these are all over the beach, and the sand really is that black!

There are caves all along the beach…some shallow, and some quite deep. The rock is so soft, like wet chalk.

 

The boys, playing in a stream that ran down the beach into the ocean.

Beautiful girl, enjoying (eating) sand for the first time!

The end of the earth...

Every heard that song "Walk On The Ocean"?

We stayed until sunset so we could get a shot of the sun going down over the ocean. Worth every minute!

Responses

  1. WOW!!!!! That’s all I can say…….

  2. Love all of the cave photos. We live on the coast in the Western US in Oregon. We have a similar shoreline. Truly fantastic! Thanks for sharing – HHH!

  3. Vallere – these photos are absolutely beautiful!

  4. DROOOLLLLLLLL volcanic sand looks so yummy when on your girlies face LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

