Posted by: Vallere | March 28, 2011

Cookies and a Cutie

Isn’t it amazing how God knows JUST what we need, JUST when we need it?

This morning, after two straight days of rain, we woke up to cloudless skies! Ian immediately asked if we could go to “our beach” (*giggle*) and I promised him that after lunch, when it had warmed up and dried out a bit, we would. We busied ourselves with food, puzzles and straightening up during the morning and everyone was looking forward to our beach day. (Especially me. The boys had been going NUTS for the two days we were stuck inside!)

My friend R. had told me that when The Doc was out of town, I was welcome to bring the kids and camp out at her house for a couple of days so I wouldn’t have to be alone. I had tried to call her a couple of days ago, but got no answer, so I tried again today while the boys were eating lunch. She answered and said, “How did you know I was in Wanganui??” Wow! She had come down to stay with her mom for a few days so they could take care of a few appointments, and I just happened to catch her at the house! I told her I was calling about coming to see her if the offer was still open, and we decided on a few days that worked for both of us. She asked how we were doing with The Doc gone, and I told her we had been cooped up with the rain, but we were about ready to head out to the beach. She said, ” Our beach? We’re heading out there today, too!”

Thank you God! Just what I needed! We met up an hour later and drove out to Castlecliff, then spent 3 glorious hours sipping coffee, watching the kids run amuck (and eat sand…), laughing and chatting. It was just perfect, even if I did get a bit too much sun. (I even had on sunscreen! Promise!)

These past two days have honestly been the first time since we’ve been in New  Zealand that I have felt homesick. I’ve missed family and friends, sure, but having The Doc gone, and going to bed all alone, really brought home how stranded I am…halfway around the world…as far away from my “home” as I can physically get. I had been looking forward to getting out of the house with the kids, but I still knew that I’d just be trading an empty house for an empty beach. But God knew…and he provided a friend at the perfect time!

We came home and had dinner, and then I decided to make some biscuits (cookies) for dessert. Another homeschool friend, C., had given me an Edmonds Cookery Book for my birthday, so I flipped through it looking for the perfect recipe to make. I found this one, and they were delicious! Actually, chocolate was NOT part of the recipe, but the boys insisted, and who am I to say no to chocolate?

Chocolate Hokey Pokey Biscuits

  • 125 g butter
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 Tbsp golden syrup
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • 1.5 c flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 child-sized handfulls of chocolate chips (your child’s hand size may vary – use discression…or go for broke)

Combine butter, sugar, golden syrup, and milk in saucepan. Heat until butter is melted and mixture is just shy of boiling, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and allow mixture to cool to lukewarm. Sift flour and baking soda together (or, if you’re lazy like me, just toss it all in together). Add to the cooled mixture (or, if you’re impatient like my 3yo, add to the still-quite-warm mixture). Stir well. Add chocolate chips. Stir well (if your mixture actually was cool, they would probably not melt like ours did). Roll tablespoons of mixture into balls. Place on a greased (read: sprayed with Pam) baking tray. Flatten with floured fork (or press flat with fingers…worked for us!). Bake at 180C (that’s about 350F for you who are Stateside) for 15 or so minutes or until golden brown. Ours were more of a chocolatey brown. YMMV.

YUM!

And, just because my mom said “Where is Ceirdwyn in all your pictures?” here’s a photo of my cutie. I LOVE her eyes! And those lips are just begging to be smooched!

Why yes, that IS the plate of cookies in the background! It's called "multitasking," people!

Responses

  1. awwwww……wish I was there too 🙂 and you know if I added two child sized handful’s of choc. we’d use the whole bag he he he he he he he

  2. What a great day! And those cookies look amazing.

  3. What a fun day! The cookies sound so yummy and little Princess is just beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

